Why I love living in the country

20160728_203041_HDR_wm

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was about to make a big mistake, a few months ago I asked my husband if we could please find a house in the town that is closest to us.  I wanted to be closer to the girls school that way I didn’t have to drive 40 minutes everyday to get to school.  After a while talking about it, he agreed and we started looking for a house.  We looked at a few of them and couldn’t find one that was good for us.

Then, it hit me, I knew exactly why we couldn’t find a new house that we both agreed on, because we really didn’t want to move to the city.  We both knew it made sense to live closer to our girls school, but at the same time, deep down, we didn’t want to live in the city.  I know it is going to be a hassle to drive every day 40 minutes there 40 minutes back, but I’m fine with this now.  I don’t want to miss a beautiful sunset that I can see and take pictures of in my backyard.  I find so much peace sitting on my hammock in silence.  I enjoy listening to frogs, crickets and the occasional owl and coyotes at night.  The best part is that I’m not the only one that enjoys this, my oldest girl said the other day:  I love that we live out here, it’s so quiet.

So, instead of changing our whole life just because of my commodity I decided to change the way I see things.  Instead of complaining about my long drive, I’m going to use that time in the car to listen to a book, talk to my girls about their day, take my dog for a ride, and make this into a positive experience.

I’m lucky to have a house and a car to begin with.  So why complain? Instead be grateful for what I have.

 

 

Leave a Reply

